MINUTES OF SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

MARCH 11, 2024

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 11TH DAY OF MARCH 2024. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Ellen Plocek, Vice President Ryan Niesent, Eric Skavang, Nathan Hoogshagen and Alesha Limbo. School administrators present were: Easton, Crosswait, Heilman, Main, Hardesty, Williams, Seyer, Wademan, Lyon, Sumners, and Olson.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Plocek called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

President Plocek led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Limbo, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the agenda.

Scheduled audience participation included a High School student discussing a revised calendar.

High School Principal Joe Williams introduced staff and students who presented on recent successes in Debate, Girls' Basketball and We The People.

Building Teachers of the Year were introduced along with the District Teacher of the Year:

- Mtn. View Elementary Kayla Jochim
- West Elementary Michelle Abbott
- Creekside Elementary Jessica Schatz
- Middle School Anton Peterson
- High School Heidi Work
- District Teacher of the Year Michelle Abbott

The Board did not have any conflict-of-interest waivers to consider.

Superintendent Kirk Easton updated the Board on an upcoming CTE open house on April 13th from 8:00 until 12:00 and April 17th from 4:00 until 7:00. Superintendent Easton also addressed recent legislative bills impacting the school district on teacher compensation minimums and increases, change to appraisal threshold, library materials and subsequent policy and an election timeline change that didn't pass.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Limbo and carried to appoint Ellen Plocek as the Board representative and Nathan Hoogshagen as the alternate to the local board of equalization. The meeting will be held on March 18, 2024 at 5:00 p.m., at the Council Chambers at Spearfish City Hall.

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Limbo and carried to approve the technology purchases for school year 2024-25.

Motion was made by Hoogshagen, seconded by Niesent and carried to approve the consent agenda.

- A. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
 - 1. Approved the following retirement (effective end of 2023-24 school year):
 - a. Carlene Burke, Creekside Elementary, Grade 4 Teacher (29 years of service)
 - 2. Approved the following classified assignment:
 - a. William Etherton, Custodian, 8hr./day, 12 months, \$16.50/hr., effective 02/21/2024
 - 3. Approved the following extra-duty agreements:
 - a. Jesse Stricherz, Assistant Softball Coach, Level 3 \$1,823.76
 - b. Sully Mack, HS Assistant Track Coach, Level 7 4,026.18 (split 3x = 1,342.06)
 - c. Cody Milbourn, HS Assistant Track Coach, Level 7 \$4,026.18 (split 3x = \$1,342.06)
 - d. Jarron Rowe, HS Assistant Track Coach, Level 7 4,026.18 (split 3x = 1,342.06)
- B. Approved volunteers

UNAPPROVED

MINUTES OF SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

MARCH 11, 2024

The 2025-26 school year calendar was discussed.

Information on the proposed renovation of West Elementary versus a new building was provided and subsequent discussion was held.

The State of SD Department of Legislative Audit has reviewed and accepted the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 financial audit.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Limbo and carried to approve the regular meeting minutes from February 12, 2024.

Motion was made by Limbo, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the financial report and bills.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Skavang and carried to move into executive session. SDCL: 1-25-2(4) Preparing for contract negotiations or negotiating with employees or employee representatives. 7:00 p.m.

The Board came out of executive session, the regular meeting continued. 7:40 p.m.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by	Hoogshagen and carried to adjourn the meeting	g. 7:41 p.m.
Ellen Plocek, Board President		
Craig Crosswait, Business Manager		