UNAPPROVED

MINUTES OF SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 28TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2022. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Mistie Caldwell, Vice President Ellen Plocek, Ryan Niesent, Eric Skavang and Nathan Hoogshagen. School administrators present were: Easton and Crosswait.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Caldwell called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

President Caldwell led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Plocek, seconded by Skavang and carried to approve the agenda.

The Board did not have any conflict of interest waivers to consider.

Motion was made by Plocek, seconded by Skavang and carried to move into executive session. SDCL: 1-25-2(1) Discussing the qualifications, competence, performance, character or fitness of any public officer or employee or prospective public officer or employee. The term, employee, does not include any independent contractor and SDCL: 1-25-2(4) Preparing for contract negotiations or negotiating with employees or employee representatives. 5:31 p.m.

The Board came out of executive session, the special meeting resumed. 7:04 p.m.

Motion was made by Plocek, seconded by Skavang and carried to remove tabled item.

A. Removed from table <u>Recommendation to renew Administrative and Supervisory Staff</u> <u>members</u> as listed (salary/benefits TBD): Kirk Easton, Superintendent, Craig Crosswait, Business Manager, Sarah Heilman, Special Services Director; Lana Main, Curriculum Director; Steve Morford, HS Principal; Jim Seyer, HS Asst Principal; Don Lyon, MS Principal; Brady Sumners, MS Assistant Principal/Activities Director; Dan Olson, Creekside Elementary Principal; Nick Gottlob, Mountain View/West Elementary Principal; Ashley Anderson, Elementary Assistant Principal; Stephanie Ornelas, HS Activities Director; Josh Gerhold, Director of Buildings and Grounds; Scott Hardesty, Technology Director; and Stephanie Hope, Director of Nursing

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Niesent and carried to approve renewal of administrative and supervisory staff members as listed (salary/benefits TBD): *Kirk Easton, Superintendent, Craig Crosswait, Business Manager, Sarah Heilman, Special Services Director; Lana Main, Curriculum Director; Steve Morford, HS Principal; Jim Seyer, HS Asst Principal; Don Lyon, MS Principal; Brady Sumners, MS Assistant Principal/Activities Director; Dan Olson, Creekside Elementary Principal; Nick Gottlob, Mountain View/West Elementary Principal; Ashley Anderson, Elementary Assistant Principal; Stephanie Ornelas, HS Activities Director; Josh Gerhold, Director of Buildings and Grounds; Scott Hardesty, Technology Director; and Stephanie Hope, Director of Nursing*

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to adjourn the meeting. 7:06 p.m.

Mistie Caldwell, Board President

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager