A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 10TH DAY OF JANUARY 2022. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: President Mistie Caldwell, Vice President Ellen Plocek, Ryan Niesent, Eric Skavang and Nathan Hoogshagen. School administrators present were: Easton, Crosswait, Heilman, Main, Morford, Seyer, Ornelas, Lyon, Sumners, Olson, Gottlob and Anderson.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

President Caldwell called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

President Caldwell led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Plocek and carried to approve the agenda.

Shelley Goodrich from Ketel Thorstenson presented the fiscal year 2021 audit report.

Motion was made by Hoogshagen, seconded by Plocek and carried to approve the fiscal year 2021 audit.

Middle School Principal Don Lyon introduced staff and students who presented information on Start Time.

Pat Partridge addressed the Board on vaccination mandates.

D. Ereth, Perci Ereth, Cassandra Brown, Anna Marrs, Florena Thompson, Petrika Peters, Sami Peil, Pat Partridge, Kristin Rath and Beth Nielsen addressed the Board on House Bill 1005 – An Act to provide for the designated use of public-school multi-occupancy rooms and sleeping rooms and House Bill 1006 – An Act to promote continued fairness in women's sports.

The Board did not have any conflict of interest waivers to consider.

Superintendent Kirk Easton updated the Board on an upcoming staff in-service, a higher than expected fee from the engineering firm in charge of an upcoming asphalt and concrete project, upcoming safety and facility meetings, negotiations and the Spearfish Foundation of Public Education Three Cheers Celebration.

Motion was made by Plocek, seconded by Niesent and carried to approve the annual School Board election for Tuesday, April 12, 2022 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Senior Citizens Center. Petitions for the two, three-year terms will be available on January 28, 2022, with a deadline for filing of February 25, 2022, by 5:00 p.m. Roll Call: Aye; Caldwell, Plocek, Niesent, Skavang, Hoogshagen.

Motion was made by Hoogshagen, seconded by Plocek and carried to approve changes to the following policies omitting number four Dangerous Weapons in the School, Staff and Students (1st reading was held December 13, 2021):

- 1. Repeal Off-Campus Misconduct Policy 5012
- 2. New Student Conduct Policy 5012
- 3. Amended Student Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Abuse Policy 5105 and 5105AR
- 4. Amended Dangerous Weapons in the School, Staff and Students Policy 5115/4250
- 5. Repeal Anti-Harassment Policy 5130/4101
- 6. New Title IX Sexual Harassment Policy 5130/4101, 5130/4101AR and 5130/4101FM
- 7. Amended Prohibition of Bullying 5133/6248

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve amendments to the 2021-22 Safe Return to Learning Plan.

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the consent agenda with the exception of item B.

- A. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
 - 1. Approved the following resignations:
 - a. Julie Stewart, HS Dance Coach, effective 12/31/2021
 - b. Jamie Schroeder, MS Volleyball Coach, effective end of 2021-22 school year
 - c. Lexie Lisenbe, HS Asst Girls Soccer Coach, effective 01/03/2022
 - 2. Approved the following classified assignments:
 - a. Alyssa Lewis, Mtn. View Elem., SPED-ESP, 6.5/hr. day, 9 mos., Level 3 \$13.79/hr., effective 01/10/2022
 - 3. Consider contract with Alyssa Palmer, West Elementary, Interventionist
- B. Approved open enrollment release request for a high school student to return to their resident district, Spearfish School District, from Meade School District, effective 01/18/2022
- C. Approved volunteer list

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to deny the request from an open enrolled student to return to the Spearfish School District.

Motion was made by Plocek, seconded by Niesent and carried to approve the regular meeting minutes from December 13, 2021 and the special meeting minutes of December 21, 2021

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the bills and financial statements.

Motion was made by Hoogshagen, second	ed by Skavang and carried to adjourn the meeting.	6:35 p.m
Mistie Caldwell, Board President		
Craig Crosswait, Business Manager		