UNAPPROVED

MINUTES OF SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

DECEMBER 13, 2021

A REGULAR MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF SPEARFISH SCHOOL DISTRICT 40-2, LAWRENCE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, WAS HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE BUILDING ON THE 13TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2021. THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT: Vice President Ellen Plocek, Ryan Niesent, Eric Skavang and Nathan Hoogshagen. School administrators present were: Easton, Crosswait, Heilman, Main, Morford, Ornelas, Lyon, Olson, Gottlob and Anderson.

All motions were passed by unanimous vote unless stated otherwise.

Vice President Plocek called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Vice President Plocek led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the agenda.

There was no unscheduled audience participation.

Creekside Elementary Principal Dan Olson, introduced fourth grade teacher Carlene Burke and two students who presented information on their t-shirt sales and subsequent local charity donations.

The Board did not have any conflict of interest waivers to consider.

Superintendent Kirk Easton provided information on enrollment, which is 2,424 students, the Governor's proposed six percent increase to K-12 public education, an upcoming area superintendent's meeting with area legislatures, the new work-in-progress district website, the scheduled facilities meeting and yet to be scheduled board work session.

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the schematic design services from JLG Architects.

Board member Nathan Hoogshagen was appointed as the ASBSD Legislative Action Network (LAN) contact.

Motion was made by Hoogshagen, seconded by Niesent and carried to approve the AIA agreement with RCS for construction manager at risk service for the proposed CTE center.

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the AIA agreement with Williams & Associates for the proposed CTE center.

Motion was made by Hoogshagen, seconded by Niesent and carried to approve the consent agenda.

- A. Personnel (all hires contingent on successful completion of background check)
 - 1. Approved the following resignations:
 - a. Melissa Mullaney, Mtn. View Elem., SPED-ESP, effective 11/17/2021
 - b. Paula McCollam, West Elem., Principal's Secretary, effective 11/30/2021
 - 2. Approved the following classified assignments:
 - a. Sandra Garza, West Elem., Principal's Secretary, 8hrs./day, 10 mos., \$14.68/hr., effective 11/30/2021
 - b. Samantha Schwab, Mtn. View Elem., SPED-ESP, 6.5hrs./day, 9 mos., \$13.79/hr., effective 12/07/2021
 - c. Tracie Moeller, Mtn. View Elem., SPED-ESP, 6.5hrs./day, 9 mos., \$13.79/hr., effective 01/03/2022
 - 3. Approved the following extra-duty assignments:
 - a. Blake Stevenson, HS Asst. Boys Basketball Coach, Level 6 \$3,350.52
 - b. Josh McGillvrey, HS Asst. Boys Basketball Coach, Level 8 \$4,318.25
 - 4. Approved contract with Dalton Magilke, MS SPED Teacher

UNAPPROVED

MINUTES OF SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

DECEMBER 13, 2021

- B. Approved open enrollment release request for a high school student to return to their resident district, Meade School District, effective 01/03/2022
- C. Approved volunteer list

The policy committee recommended the first reading for revisions to the following policies.

- 1. Repeal Off-Campus Misconduct Policy 5012
- 2. New Student Conduct Policy 5012
- 3. Amended Student Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug Abuse Policy 5105 and 5105AR
- 4. Amended Dangerous Weapons in the School, Staff and Students Policy 5115/4250
- 5. Repeal Anti-Harassment Policy 5130/4101
- 6. New Title IX Sexual Harassment Policy 5130/4101, 5130/4101AR and 5130/4101FM
- 7. Amended Prohibition of Bullying 5133/6248

A review of safe return to learning plan was discussed per South Dakota Department of Education mandate.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Skavang and carried to approve the regular meeting minutes of November 8, 2021.

Motion was made by Skavang, seconded by Hoogshagen and carried to approve the bills and financial statements.

Motion was made by Niesent, seconded by Skavang and carried to adjourn the meeting. 5:57 p.m.

Mistie Caldwell, Board President

Craig Crosswait, Business Manager